Conference Related Workshops and Information Sessions

Conference Preparation & Information Session for Presenters

How to Write an Abstract

The following workshops will be held in Meeting Room D, Student Community Center

Tuesday, January 30, 2018, 12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Wednesday, January  31, 2018, 3:10 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, February 1, 2018, 4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

URC Conference General Information Sessions

All Sessions in Meeting Room D in the Student Community Center:

Wednesday, January 17, 2018, 1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Friday, February 2, 2018, 12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Friday, February 9, 2018, 12:10 - 2:00 p.m.

Undergraduate Research Conference Mandatory Prep Sessions

The following Sessions will take place in the Multipurpose Room, Student Community Center

Monday, March 12, 2018, 9:00 a.m. - 9:50 a.m.
Monday, March 12, 2018, 10:00 a.m.- 10:50 a.m.
Tuesday, March 13, 2018, 12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 13, 2018, 1:10 p.m.- 2:00 p.m.
Wednesday, March 14, 2018, 3:10 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, March 14, 2018, 4:10 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 15, 2018, 11:00 a.m. - 11:50 a.m.
Thursday, March 15, 2018, 12:10 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Friday, March 16, 2018, 12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Friday, March 16, 2018, 1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

The following Session is for ART EXHIBITORS ONLY in Room 2300, Student Community Center

TBA

How to Make an Effective Research Poster

All Sessions In Meeting Room D of the Student Community Center

Wednesday, March 7, 2018, 4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 8, 2018, 6:10 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 5, 2018, 4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday, April 6, 2018, 12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

How to Give a Professional Talk

The following Sessions will take place in Meeting Room D, Student Community Center

Monday, April 9, 2018, 4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 10, 2018, 12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

How to Make an Effective Poster

Presentation on "How to Make an Effective Poster" by Matthew Stuckey PhD(c), MPH(c), Program Coordinator and Tammy Hoyer, Assistant Director of the Undergraduate Research Center with information provided by Jeremy Foin and Lolita Adkins.  Matthew talks about how to put together an effective poster for the Undergraduate Research Conference and offers suggestions for format and layout.

download the academic poster presentation



How to Give a Professional Talk

Presentation on "How to Give a Professional Talk" by: Alison Bright and Kelly Crosby, University Writing Program. Tips on how to give an effective professional presentation for the Undergraduate Research Conference.